29 January 2005

Blue Dot Taillight Bill Reintroduced in Mississippi

The Specialty Equipment and Market Association (SEMA) sent the Hagerty Protection Network the following Legislative Alert this afternoon to share with our customers and agents immediately. If you have any questions regarding this alert, please call or email Rory Carroll, Hagerty Collector Network Legislative Director at 877-922-9701, x8787 / Rcarroll@hagerty.com or Steve McDonald, SEMA Senior Director of Government and Technical Affairs at stevem@sema.org.

Urgent Legislative Alert

Blue Dot Taillight Bill Reintroduced in Mississippi

A bill (H.B. 489) has been reintroduced in the Mississippi State Legislature by Representative Pat Montgomery (pmontgomery@mail.house.state.ms.us) that would allow antique vehicles and street rods to display a blue, violet or purple light as part of the vehicle’s rear stop lamps. The bill will be considered by the Mississippi House Transportation Committee.

We Urge You to Contact Members of the House Transportation Committee (List Below) Immediately to Request Their Support for H.B. 489

  • Mississippi defines antique motor vehicles as those manufactured more than 25-years ago and street rods as modified vehicles produced by an American manufacturer in 1948 or earlier and used as a safe, nonracing vehicle.
  • H.B. 489 recognizes that blue dot taillights have no detrimental impact on safety.
  • H.B. 489 enables enthusiasts to modify their vehicles to recall in fine detail the glory days of the hot rod era in America.
  • H.B. 489 follows in the tradition of similar laws enacted in other states, including recently in Minnesota, Illinois, Missouri, Rhode Island and Montana.

Please contact members of the Mississippi House Transportation Committee immediately by phone or e-mail to request their support for this bill.

Mississippi House Transportation Committee

William Miles, Chairman
(601) 359-3355
wmiles@mail.house.state.ms.us

Henry Zuber III, Vice-Chairman
(601) 359-3353
hzuber@mail.house.state.ms.us

Noal Akins
nakins@mail.house.state.ms.us

Mark Baker
mbaker@mail.house.state.ms.us

Rickey Cummings
(601) 359-3337
rcummings@mail.house.state.ms.us

Lee Jarrell Davis
(601) 359-9392
ldavis@mail.house.state.ms.us

Blaine Eaton
(601) 359-3332
beaton@mail.house.state.ms.us

Erik Fleming
(601) 359-3374
efleming@mail.house.state.ms.us

Mark Formby
(601) 359-3364
mformby@mail.house.state.ms.us

Jack Gadd
(601) 359-5140

Phillip Gunn
pgunn@mail.house.state.ms.us

Bobby B. Howell
(601) 359-3343

Joey Hudson
(601) 359-4073

Michael W. Janus
(601) 359-4074
mjanus@mail.house.state.ms.us

Bennett Malone
(601) 359-3367

Warner F. McBride
(601) 359-2434
wmcbride@mail.house.state.ms.us

Harvey Moss
(601) 359-3396

Deryk R. Parker
dparker@mail.house.state.ms.us

Clint Rotenberry
(601) 359-2424
rotenberry@mail.house.state.ms.us

Bobby Shows
(601) 359-4076
bshows@mail.house.state.ms.us

Greg Snowden
(601) 359-2432
gsnowden@mail.house.state.ms.us

Preston E. Sullivan
psullivan@mail.house.state.ms.us

Jerry R. Turner
jturner@mail.house.state.ms.us

Jessica Upshaw
jupshaw@mail.house.state.ms.us

Robert E. Vince
(601) 359-3363
rvince@mail.house.state.ms.us

J. Shaun Walley
jwalley@mail.house.state.ms.us

Greg Ward
(601) 359-3354
gward@mail.house.state.ms.us

Tom Weathersby
(601) 359-3336
tweathersby@mail.house.state.ms.us

Tommy L. Woods
(601) 359-3466
twoods@mail.house.state.ms.us

William Miles, Chairman
(601) 359-3355
wmiles@mail.house.state.ms.us

Henry Zuber III, Vice-Chairman
(601) 359-3353
hzuber@mail.house.state.ms.us

If you are experiencing any difficulty in contacting your legislators, please contact Rory Carroll, Hagerty Collector Network Legislative Director, at Rcarroll@hagerty.com or 877-922-9701, x8407.

Please e-mail a copy of your letters to us at Rcarroll@hagerty.com or fax: 231-932-6887.

Thank you for your commitment to the future of collector cars and the hobby.

Sincerely,
McKeel Hagerty
Hagerty Collector Network

0 Reader Comments

Join the Discussion