23 January 2008

Pro-Hobbyist Inoperable Vehicle Bill Introduced in Washington State

Pro-Hobbyist Inoperable Vehicle Bill Introduced in Washington State

A version of SEMA model legislation (S.B. 6403) has been introduced in the Washington State Legislature by Senator Mike Carrell (Carrell.michael@leg.wa.gov) that would prohibit cities or towns from enforcing an ordinance, development regulation, zoning regulation, or administrative practice that prevents automobile collectors from pursuing their hobby. Junked, wrecked or inoperable vehicles, including parts cars, stored on private property would only require screening from public view, if required by local law. The bill is pending consideration by the Washington Senate Government Operations Committee. However, the bill will not be given a hearing unless we act now.

We Urge You to Contact Chairperson Darlene Fairley and Members of the Government Operations Committee (List Attached Below) Immediately to Request Their Support for S.B. 6403

  • S.B. 6403 would permit the repair or modification of motor vehicles that are undergoing restoration.
  • S.B. 6403 would permit the maintenance of parts cars as a source of parts for motor vehicles undergoing restoration.
  • S.B. 6403 provides safeguards for hobbyists to work on collector vehicles on private property.
  • S.B. 6403 establishes reasonable provisions that vehicles be located out of public view by means of suitable fencing, vegetation or other means.
  • S.B. 6403 demonstrates a real effort by legislators and hobbyists to enact reasonable and fair compromise legislation.

Washington Senate Government Operations Committee

Senator Darlene Fairley – Chairwoman
Phone: 360/786-7662
Fax: 360/786-1999
Email: fairley.darlene@leg.wa.gov

Senator Eric Oemig
Phone: 360/786-7672
Fax: 360/786-1446
Email: oemig.eric@leg.wa.gov

Senator Pam Roach
Phone 360/786-7660
Fax: 360/786-7173
Email: roach.pam@leg.wa.gov

Senator Don Benton
Phone: 360/786-7632
Fax: 360/786-1999
Email: benton.don@leg.wa.gov

Senator Adam Kline
Phone: 360/786-7688
Fax: 360/786-1999
Email: kline.adam@leg.wa.gov

Senator Joe McDermott
Phone: 360/786-7667
Fax: 360/786-1446
Email: mcdermott.joe@leg.wa.gov

Senator Craig Pridemore
Phone: 360/786-7696
Fax: 360/786-1999
Email: pridemore.craig@leg.wa.gov

Senator Dan Swecker
Phone: 360/786-7638
Fax: 360/786-1999
Email: swecker.dan@leg.wa.gov

If you are experiencing any difficulty in contacting your legislators, please contact Rory Carroll, Hagerty Plus Legislative Resource Director, at Advocacy@hagerty.com or 888-310-8020.

Please e-mail a copy of your letters to us at Advocacy@hagerty.com or fax: 231-932-6887.

Thank you for your commitment to the future of the collector vehicle hobby.

McKeel Hagerty

0 Reader Comments

Join the Discussion